Consulado General
Cónsul General
Servicios Consulares
Consulados en EEUU
Servicios a Venezolanos
Registro de Venezolanos
Medios Venezolanos
Noticias de Venezuela
Galería de Fotos
Venezuela en la Red
Links de EEUU
Latest News                                                                                                    

Venezuela's "Sardina de Naiguat?" Nominated for Independent Music Awards

The recognized Venezuelan music ensemble "La Sardina de Naiguatá, which recently released an album with Smithsonian Folkways, " is participating in this year's Independent Music Awards.
The website of the contest, which allows online voting and is run by the Music Resource Group, states that it celebrates artists that follow their own muse and offers something to satisfy every type of music fan.

"La Sardina de Naiguatá" submitted its album "¡Parranda!Venezuelan Carnival Music" and was nominated in the Latin music category along with four other groups. The album includes 14 tracks in traditional genres like calypso, parranda, and fulía. It was recorded in Caracas, Venezuela's capital city, and mastered in the United States thanks to collaboration among the Chevron Corporation, the Smithsonian Institution, the Center for Cultural Diversity in Caracas and the Venezuelan Embassy to the U.S.

The group took its name from a unique tradition called "the burial of the sardine," which takes place during Carnival in the town of Naiguatá in the coastal state of Vargas.

The trumpet player Ricardo Díaz founded the group in the 1970s, adding brass instruments, a chorus and keyboard to the traditional Afro-Caribbean drums of the Carnival celebrations during Corpus Christi and the Feast of Saint John the Baptist.

About the Competition

The Music Resource Group announced the nominees for the 12th annual Independent Music Awards on March 19.

A press release states: "The nominees in more than 80 categories like best album, song, video and design were selected from among thousands of performers hailing from North America, South America, Asia, Africa, Australia, Greenland and Europe…  The winners  will be determined by a panel of  judges and influential artists from the industry like Tom Waits and Kathleen Brennan, Ziggy Marley, Suzanne Vega, Meshell Ndegeocello, Del McCoury, Pete Wentz, Shelby Lynne, G. Love, Jim Lauderdale, McCoy Tyner, Brandi Carlile, John Medeski and Chris Wood (of Medeski, Martin and Wood), Judy Collins, Raul Midon, Andrea Marcovicci, “Weird Al” Yankovic, Bernie Worrell, Jeremy Taggart,Toots Hibbert, Dennis Diken, Joel Madden, Arturo Sandoval, Jonatha Brooke, Alan Light (Live From The Artist's Den), Terry McBride (Nettwerk Music Group), Kevin Lyman (Vans Warped Tour), Jason Olaine (Jazz at Lincoln Center), Anthony DeCurtis (Rolling Stone), Dan Storper (Putumayo World Music), Bob Ludwig (Gateway Mastering), Bruce Iglauer (Alligator Records), and more.

Music fans can also weigh in online here until July 19 to cast their votes.

The list of all the nominees and judges and other details are available at:

Press Office - Venezuelan Embassy to the U.S. / March 25, 2013

Dirección: Edf. Mercantil Plaza
Piso 6, Ofc.601
Ave. Ponce de León
San Juan, P.R. 00918
(787) 766-4250
(787) 281-0134



© Copyright 2002. Todos los derechos reservados.