Consulado General
Cónsul General
Servicios Consulares
Consulados en EEUU
Servicios a Venezolanos
Registro de Venezolanos
Medios Venezolanos
Noticias de Venezuela
Galería de Fotos
Venezuela en la Red
Links de EEUU
Latest News                                                                                                    

Venezuelan Literary Contest, the Liberator's Prize, Open to Authors Worldwide

Venezuela’s Ministry of Culture is calling on authors from around the world to participate in the literary contest known as the Liberator’s Prize for Critical Thought (Premio Libertador al Pensamiento Crítico), an annual award to recognize books dedicated to the analysis of the realities of the contemporary world that demonstrate a commitment to the defense of humanity.

This year the ministry will consider books published in Spanish from January 1 to December 31, 2011. The deadline to submit works is April 15, 2012.

The Liberator’s Prize for Critical Thought, organized by the Ministry of Culture, is open to intellectuals from around the world, and the winner will receive a statute, a diploma and a cash prize of $150,000.
Contest rules are available here.

The first of these contests was carried out in 2005, when 136 works from 16 countries participated. The winner that year was El Sujeto y la Ley, El retorno del sujeto reprimido (The Subject and The Law: The Return of the Repressed Subject), by the German-Costa Rican philosopher Franz Hinkelammert.

In 2006, 107 authors participated, and the winner was Vuelta del Siglo (Turn of the Century), by Ecuadorian professor and researcher Bolívar Echeverría, a work of critical philosophy concerned with decoding Latin American modernity.

The winner of the third contest in 2007 was Un mundo incierto, un mundo para aprender y enseñar (An Uncertain World, a World to Learn and Teach), by Colombian writer Renán Vega Cantor.
Meanwhile, the winner in 2008 was the book The Challenge and Burden of Historical Time: Socialism in the Twenty First Century, by the prominent Marxist thinker István Mészáros.

In 2009, the prize went to Enrique Dussel, an Argentine writer who lives in Mexico, for his book Política de la liberación. Volumen II, Arquitectónica (The Politics of Liberation, Volume II).
The winners for 2010 were Carlos Fernández and Luis Alegre of Spain for their book, The Order and The Capital.

Press Office – Venezuelan Embassy to U.S. / March 6, 2012

Dirección: Edf. Mercantil Plaza
Piso 6, Ofc.601
Ave. Ponce de León
San Juan, P.R. 00918
(787) 766-4250
(787) 281-0134



© Copyright 2002. Todos los derechos reservados.