Consulado General
Cónsul General
Servicios Consulares
Consulados en EEUU
Servicios a Venezolanos
Registro de Venezolanos
Medios Venezolanos
Noticias de Venezuela
Galería de Fotos
Venezuela en la Red
Links de EEUU
Latest News                                                                                                    

Angel Falls Among 28 Finalists in Contest for "Seven Natural Wonders of the World"

Angel Falls, the Amazon Rainforest, El Yunque Rainforest, Galapagos Islands and Iguazu Falls are the five Latin America sites chosen among the 28 finalists in the “Seven Natural Wonders of the World” competition.
The decision was made by a group of six experts, presided over by the former director general of UNESCO, Federico Mayo Zaragoza, who chose from among the 77 candidates pre-selected by millions of online voters.
The group of experts chose the 28 finalists, taking into account the beauty of the place, its diversity, its ecological importance, its historical legacy and its geographic location, in order to have an equitable distribution by continent.
Angel Falls and the Amazon
Angel Falls is found in Canaima National Park, located in Bolivar State, in the deep southwest of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela. The park is a protected area where there are waterfalls, gale-force winds and large rivers that combine with immense savannas and Tepuyes (table-topped mountains found only in Venezuela) set the stage for the highest waterfall in the world: Angel Falls or Parecupá Merú (its original indigenous name) among the finalists in this contest.
The Amazon Basin represents 50% of the tropical forest in the world and has a surface area of 7.8 million kilometers. The Amazon covers territories in Venezuela, Brazil, Peru, Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Suriname, and the Guyanas.
The Other Finalists
The remainder of the finalists includes: the Bay of Fundy in Canada; the Black Forest of Germany; Bu Tinah Shoals in the United Arab Emirates; the Cliffs of Moher in Ireland; and the Dead Sea in Palestine, Jordan, and Israel.
Other sites in the competition are: Mount Vesuvius (Italy), Ha Long Bay (Vietnam), Mount Kilamanjaro (Tanzania), the Great Barrier Reef (Australia and Papau New Guinea), the Grand Canyon (United States), Jeita Grotto (Lebanon) and Jeju Island (South Korea).
The list of finalist finishes with: Komodo in Indonesia, The Maldives Islands, the Masuria Lakes in Poland, Mount Cervino in Switzerland and Italy, Milford Sound in New Zealand, the Mud Volcanoes of Azerbaijan, the Puerto Princesa Underground River in the Philippines, Table Mountain in South Africa, the Uluru / Ayer’s Rock in Australia, and the Yushan Mountain in Taiwan.
“Seven Natural Wonders of the World” organization will visit each of the 28 sites and will attempt to organize a promotional event in each place along with the local governments.
How to Vote?
The public voting process has resumed via the internet, in order to come up with the final list for 2011.
The Minister of People’s Power for Tourism (Mintur), an entity committed to promoting tourism in all the destinations of Venezuela, invites internet users to continue voting for the natural beauties of Venezuela, such as Angel Falls and the Amazon, so that they can be a part of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World, through or directly through the organization that promotes the competition:
Press Unit of the Ministry of People’s Power for Tourism (Mintur), Government Online,
Press Unit of the Embassy of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela to the United States / July 29, 2009

Dirección: Edf. Mercantil Plaza
Piso 6, Ofc.601
Ave. Ponce de León
San Juan, P.R. 00918
(787) 766-4250
(787) 281-0134



© Copyright 2002. Todos los derechos reservados.