This website has been moved to

The information in this site might be outdated.
Please update your bookmarks.

Consulate General
Servicios Consulares
Oficinas Consulares
Servicios a Venezolanos(as)
Registro de Venezolanos
Prensa y Medios
Noticias de Venezuela
Galeria de Fotos
Venezuela on the Web
Untitled Document
National Symbols
The story of the flag

This is the flag that is placed on the mast of Francisco de Miranda's ship Capitana Leandra on May 1806, when he returns to Venezuela in his plight for the country's freedom from Spain. It is the same flag that he later hoists in the fort San Pedro de la Vela , in Coro.


After the proclamation of Independence, Venezuela keeps the three bands of colour that Miranda designed but adds the seal with the figure of a native indian on the yellow band.




Flag of the Federal Government Of Pampatar 1817
On the yellow band which is the widest, seven blue stars are placed as symbol of the seven provinces that declare themselves free in 1811; Caracas, Cumaná, Barinas, Barcelona, Margarita, Mérida and Trujillo.



Flag of the Federal Government of Angostura 1817
The Congress of Angostura establishes in 1817 that an eigth star be added, as symbol of the recently freed province of Guayana.



It is decided that the bands of colour be the same width, and the Coat of Arms be placed on the upper left hand corner. The Coat of Arms is partitioned into three sections: yellow, blue, and red. The red section shows a sheaf of wheat, symbolizing the union of the Venezuelan States. The yellow section has two crossed swords and two flags entwined by a laurel wreath, as an emblem of victory; the third section occupying the entire lower half of the emblem, contains an indomitable white horse, the symbol of freedom and independence.

The cornucopias and a ribbon with the colours of the flag uniting the laurel and olive branches bears the following inscription: "República de Venezuela; Independencia, 19 de abril de 1810; Federación, 20 de febrero de 1859."

Flag of the Federation of Coro
Once again, the flag of Pampatar of 1817 is adopted in 1859, this time with equal band widths and 7 blue stars, simbolizing the provinces that made up the Venezuelan Confederation in 1811.



For the first time the stars are white and are placed in the centre forming a circle.



Flag of Venezuela / Barinas 1863
The stars return to the yellow band, but this time there are twenty of them, representing the twenty provinces that come together to the Venezuelan Federation in 1863.


The flag of 1863 is retaken with white stars representing the provinces of the Confederation of 1811



The design that becomes the foundation of our flag today. The shield is incorporated in 1954



The shield is incorporated in February 17, 1954



The Venezuelan National Assembly approved a law that alters the National Flag, the National Anthem and the National Coat of Arms of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, by modifying the direction and position of the horse that appears in the bottom quarter of the Coat of Arms and incorporates an eighth star on the National Flag.

More information

© Copyright 2002 - 2019. embavenez-us.org. Todos los derechos reservados.